土拨鼠节:从喀拉拉邦洪灾中得出的全球性经验与教训

去年年底,我在印度出版物《Mint》中发表了一篇社论,申明印度无法了解 8 月份发生的喀拉拉邦洪灾到底造成了多大的影响和损失,以及在下一次发生自然灾害之前,政府就应该全盘考虑灾害风险融资的方方面面。

现在我们了解到,重建和清理成本正在“下沉”—— 其中包括向购买金银的公民征收的“洪水税”。军方也向国家政府请求支付10.2 亿卢比(1400 万美元),用于补偿救灾期间出动 517 架次飞机的费用。喀拉拉邦的公民最终会感受到所有这些额外支出带来的影响,然而他们同时也是最需要帮助和重建援助的人。

不可否认,我们的世界和气候正在不断变化。不可否认,我们目前无法足够迅捷地应对这些变化。不可否认,公私合作将使世界更具恢复力。

保障先行,护航未来

大多数自然灾害均未承保。原因并非保险公司没有承保能力 —— 根据瑞再研究院的评估,截至 2018 年底,非寿险/再保险的总承保能力已经超过 2 万亿美元。科学和数据表明,由于人们选择居住在人口稠密的靠海地区,亚洲将会面临更高的“次生灾害”损失。由于气候变化、人员迁徙和人口密度等因素的影响,这些现象不会像过去那样罕见。

任何自然灾害造成的损失都无法进行精确衡量。因为所遭受的眼泪和伤痛无法衡量。要精确衡量损失是不可能的。因此,我们决定致力于我们所能衡量的因素,使亚洲变得更具恢复力,更利于人们的生活、经济的繁荣和城市的发展。

亚洲各国政府逐渐意识到,他们能够采取更充分的准备措施。例如,中国四川省的茂县与瑞士再保险及我们的合作伙伴中航安盟合作,为其定制指数保险解决方案,即当该县遭受洪水、地震、滑坡甚至特大暴雨等自然灾害时,一旦满足条件就会触发赔付。在茂县,如果发生地震且地震等级超过预先议定的等级,即可触发赔付。

这意味着什么呢?不用理赔。无需等待救济。更快开始重建。

灾难风险融资

灾难风险融资还有许多其他模式:美国国家洪水保险计划、加勒比海地区的 16 国飓风、地震和降雨风险保险基金,以及墨西哥的 FONDEN 计划 —— 它是一项综合性的灾难风险融资策略,由储备融资、再保险和灾难债券等组成。

科学家还提到,厄尔尼诺-拉尼娜气候现象交替发生的间隔越来越短。一些地方遭受洪灾,另外一些地方则发生了旱灾。预计今年的厄尔尼诺现象将会造成大范围损失。城市化的海岸线、人口稠密的大都市、致病的污染物等各类因素综合在一起,会使灾难带来的影响力比过去大得多。亚洲的大片土地位于“环太平洋火山带”上,历史上发生的所有地震中有超过 90% 源于此处。在 25 次震级创纪录的地震中,只有三次未处于环太平洋火山带内。

您还在等什么呢?我们知道,当爆发自然灾害时,我们无法占据上风。正因如此,我们才要监测风暴、时刻关注新闻频道,甚至用胶带封住窗户,希望什么灾难都不会发生。我们并不能预防风暴或地震,但我们可以在灾难过境后更好地应对灾难。

此外,还有一个振聋发聩的理由:财务评级机构越来越注重自然灾难对政府财务状况造成的影响。标普和穆迪均表示1 : 减轻自然灾害造成的财政影响可以提升政府的信用评级。

重新考虑风险

我们认为,大多数国家/地区的灾难风险机制都需要重新进行审视。回到喀拉拉邦,根据印度的救灾机制,救灾的重点是即时救济和修复,但并未解决如何提供资金对基础设施进行恢复和重建的问题。值得重申的是,使用政府账户购买保险有助于填补重建融资的空缺。


在 2017 至 2018 年间,全球自然灾害造成的综合经济损失高达 4970 亿美元,其中保险损失总计为 2190 亿美元,是有史以来两年期保险赔付的最高纪录。这两年的综合自然灾难保障缺口也相当大,达到 2800 亿美元。


这 2800 亿美元能用于更好的用途。


现在,运用创新的解决方案和预测模型,可以帮助我们的合作伙伴在自然灾害发生前做好更充分的准备。另外,科技和卫星测绘能够帮助我们进行赔付,同时帮助瑞士再保险考量整个亚洲地区的新型风险及新兴风险池。


政府应该做的,是基于保险公司及其再保险合作伙伴的共有专业知识,考虑采用新的保险方案。如上所述,融合了风险预防和风险转移解决方案的公私合作方式已然存在,可以随时“拿来”参考运用。


这对政府的好处是融资全程透明,对公民的好处是近乎即时的赔付,而对受灾难影响的每一个人而言,好处将是雪中送炭的食品、衣物、医疗和临时住所而无需到处筹集资金。

Contact

Related content

Groundhog Day: Global Lessons from the Kerala Floods

Late last year, I shared in an editorial with India's Mint publication that India would never really know the cost of August's Kerala floods, and that the government should consider all aspects of disaster risk financing before the next natural catastrophe strikes.

We now know that reconstruction and cleanup costs are now being passed down – including a "flood cess" that taxes citizens on gold and silver purchases, among others. The military has also hit the state government with a Rs. 102 crore bill (USD 14 million) for the 517 sorties it flew during the relief period. All these additional costs will eventually be felt by Kerala's citizens – the same ones who need help and reconstruction aid the most.

Fact: our world and climate are changing. Fact: We're not adapting to these changes quick enough. Fact: public-private partnerships will make our world a more resilient place.

Insuring our Changing World

Most natural catastrophes remain underinsured. And its not that insurance companies do not have the capacity - total non-life re/insurance capacity stood at more than USD 2 trillion at the end of last year, according to Swiss Re Institute estimates. Science and data tell us that Asia will face bigger bills for "secondary perils" because of people have chosen to live in dense, heavily populated areas by the coastline. The confluence of climate change, human movement and density only means these occurrences will not be a rarity as in the past.

The scale of damage from any natural disaster can never really be measured. Because you can't measure tears and hurt. You can never really measure loss. Why we're determined to work on what we can measure and to make Asia a more resilient place to live, thrive and grow.

Asian governments are recognizing that they can be better prepared. For example, China's Mao County turned to Swiss Re and our local partner Groupama AVIC to come up with a parametric solution resulting in automatic payouts should they be hit by a natural disaster – floods, quakes, landslides or even heavy rainfall. In Mao County, in the event of a quake and the seismic rating goes past a pre-agreed threshold, an automatic payout will be triggered.

What does that mean? No claims. No wait for handouts. A quicker start to the rebuilding process.

Disaster Risk Financing

There are numerous other models for disaster risk financing: America's National Flood Insurance Program, the Caribbean's 16-country hurricane, earthquake and rainfall risk insurance fund and Mexico's FONDEN program, which is a comprehensive disaster risk financing strategy comprising reserve funding, reinsurance and catastrophe bonds.

Scientists have also said the space between El Nino-La Nina weather patterns too, are shortening. Floods in one region, drought in others. Widespread damage is forecasted for this year's El Nino. Mix in urbanized coastlines, dense cities and disease-causing pollutants and you have a recipe for disaster far more potent than in the past. A large swath of Asia also sits on the "Pacific Ring of Fire", where over 90% of all quakes take place. Of the 25 record magnitude earthquakes, only three came from beyond this ring.

Why wait? We know that the odds don't reside with us when a natural catastrophe strikes. Which is why we track storms, fixate ourselves on news channels and tape our windows in the hope that nothing happens. We can't always prevent a storm or quake, but we can be better prepared to deal with it once it has passed.

There is another compelling reason: ratings agencies are increasingly looking at the impact of natural disasters on the financial health of a government. Both S&P and Moody’s said1 that mitigating the financial impact of natural disasters will improve the credit rating of a government.

Rethinking Risk

We believe the disaster risk mechanism for most countries can be relooked. Back to Kerala, under India’s disaster relief mechanism, the focus on immediate relief and rehabilitation leaves unaddressed the challenge of how to fund restoration and rebuilding of infrastructure. Again, insurance purchased on the government account will serve to plug this gap in reconstruction financing.

Globally, in 2017 and 2018, the combined economic loss total from natural disaster events was USD 497 billion, and the insured loss total at USD 219 billion, representing the highest level of associated insurance pay outs over a two-period ever. The combined natural catastrophe protection gap for the two years was also large, at USD 280 billion.

That USD280 billion can be put to better use.

Today, there are innovative solutions and predictive models that we use to help our partners better prepare ahead of a natural catastrophe. Technology and satellite mapping also help us with payouts and helps Swiss Re consider new risk and emerging risk pools across Asia.

What governments should be doing is to consider new approaches that build on the shared knowledge of insurers and their reinsurance partners. As mentioned, public-private partnerships that combine risk prevention and risk transfer solutions are there and can be readily applied.

The benefit to governments would be transparency over funding; the benefit to citizens is almost immediate payouts; the benefit to everyone affected would be food, clothes, medicines and temporary shelter without having to appeal for funds.

 

Contact

Related content