次生灾害 – 并不次要

据瑞再研究院针对自然灾害和人为灾难的年度 Sigma 评论指出,在 2018 年 760 亿美元的自然灾害承保损失中,超过 60% 是由“次生灾害”事件造成的。

Sigma 还表明,2018 年的自然灾害和人为灾难承保损失总额达 850 亿美元,为有记录以来的历史第四高,这也印证了该损失金额在过去二十年中逐渐增高的趋势。总计经济损失达 1650 亿美元,再次凸显了存在着的巨大保障缺口。

“原生灾害”指的是那些潜在的损失强度最大、受到严密监测、且通常涵盖在灾害模型下的灾害——在这里,我们主要是指地震和热带气旋。而次生灾害则是指那些会造成中小型损失的灾害,例如冰雹、洪水、风暴或森林火灾。

是什么原因导致 2018 年次生灾害损失的所占比例如此之高?

其中一个主要原因是 2018 年原生灾害的发生率较低。尽管没有发生特大灾难事件,但承保损失总额仍达到了有记录以来的历史第四高,这表明次生灾害正在增加。Sigma 指出,次生灾害承保损失的增长主要是由于风险敞口的增长集中在大城市、沿海地区和洪泛区。简言之,当我们将更多的资产置于危险之中时,我们看到的损失也将会更多。

次生灾害通常与天气有关,因此,我们可以预料到,气候变化将会对未来次生灾害损失的结果产生影响。随着世界变暖,我们将会经历更多的大气能量释放,即更多的风暴;变暖的大气将会吸收更多的水分,导致更强烈的降雨事件;此外,热浪的增加也会导致森林火灾/丛林火灾损失的增加。

澳大利亚地区的次生灾害是否正在增加?

澳大利亚正面临着大量次生灾害的威胁。据澳大利亚保险理事会 (ICA)《自然灾害事件清单》的分析表明,自 1966/7 年以来,67% 的归一化1 保损失都是由次生灾害造成的。在归一化损失金额最高的 20 项中,有 14 项是由次生灾害造成的。

回顾过去几年中在澳大利亚发生的次生灾害损失活动,人们可能会忍不住要问,澳大利亚近期是否会出现更多的此类损失。在次生灾害(不包括地震和气旋损失)方面,我们对 ICA 归一化损失数据的分析显示,归一化损失在过去 50 年中只有轻微的、在统计学上可能微不足道的残差趋势(图 1)。由此我们可以推断,在较长一段时期内,澳大利亚损失增加的主要驱动因素在于潜在风险敞口的增长,这与我们对全球损失的 Sigma 研究结果一致。

Graph source: ICA Dataglobe

气候变化是否会对损失产生影响?

尽管在归一化损失数据中没有令人信服的潜在趋势,但其他研究表明,气候变化已经对损失产生了影响。

近年来发表的许多归因研究一直在试图确定,我们不断变化的气候是否对其所研究的事件具有影响。《碳简报》(Carbon Brief) 分析了 230 多项经同行评审的科学全球归因研究的结果,越来越多的证据表明,人类活动正在增加某些极端天气的风险,尤其是那些与高温有关的极端天气。在迄今为止所研究的所有极端天气事件中,68% 是由于人为造成的气候变化而使其可能性增加或严重程度加剧的。其中,热浪占这些事件的 43%,干旱占 17%,暴雨或洪水占 16%2

将目光拉近,气候理事会 (Climate Council)3 指出,到目前为止,澳大利亚的大多数归因研究都集中在与热有关的事件上,即热浪;创记录的炎热月份、季节和年份;以及近年来导致大堡礁大面积白化的海洋表面高温事件。不过,一些归因研究也探讨了极端降雨与气候变化之间的联系。例如,澳大利亚北部海面温度 (SST) 的上升趋势可能是造成 2010 年至 2011 年澳大利亚东部强降雨规模的原因之一,在所有原因中影响比重可能高达 20%。

气候理事会的报告还指出,未来,我们可能还会看到以下几个方面的其他气候影响:

  • 强降雨:预计极端降雨事件的强度将会增加。
  • 冰雹和雷暴:对有可能在澳大利亚诱发严重雷暴的条件所进行的分析表明,到本世纪末,潜在的强雷暴日数将显著增加。其中,布里斯班将增加 14%,墨尔本将增加 22%,悉尼将增加 30%。
  • 热带外气旋:对东海岸低气压的预测表明,该低气压将继续之前观测到的减少趋势,到本世纪末,其数量将减少多达 30%。但是,有迹象表明,最严重的东海岸低气压的强度可能会加大。

其他研究表明,北美洲地区的平均冰雹规模和较大冰雹事件发生的频率都有可能增加45澳大利亚如若出现类似的转变,便会增加这一风险带来的潜在损失,而该风险在归一化损失的历史记录中已经占了相当大的比重。

新西兰地区的情况又如何呢?

尽管地震和其他地质灾害仍将会是灾害的“主力”,但在气候持续变化的情况下,我们还会看到更多其他类型的极端天气事件。更多过渡到当地的热带气旋,如 Gita 和 Fehi,以及由于“大气河流”的形成而导致的暴雨增多,如随后的热带风暴黛比 (Cyclone Debbie),都属于这些极端天气。最近发生在尼尔森地区的森林大火,可能就是当地森林火灾风险增高的早期征兆。此外,Sigma 还特别指出,加利福尼亚在这一年也创下了森林火灾纪录的新高。

面对气候风险我们该做些什么?

保险公司和再保险公司面临的挑战是,要了解气候变化将在何时、以及在多大程度上影响它们的业务。由于损失数据中固有的干扰因素,要在损失记录中获得在统计学上相关的气候变化损失信号无疑还需要相当长的时间6。可是,我们不能白白地等上 100 年再回过头来于事无补地承认,气候变化已经在承保损失领域留下了它的印记。同样,我们也不能简单地忽视这个问题,因为它不会消失。

现在,在量化和报告由气候变化带来的金融影响方面,我们看到正出现令人鼓舞的进展。尽管在预估气候变化对某些次生灾害(如冰雹)的影响方面仍存在着一些局限性,但联合国气候相关财务信息披露工作组 (TCFD) 的相关计划7 已能为保险公司和再保险公司提供框架,帮助预估其承保组合中的许多其他气候风险(气旋、洪水)及其价格。

TCFD 还能为政府主管部门提供一个框架,帮助他们了解气候变化可能会对哪些领域产生最大影响,从而使他们能够采取适当的方法(比如妥善的计划和缓解措施)来应对气候风险的影响,使巨灾风险转移在未来保持可负担性和可持续性。

1 ICA’s 的正常损失数据剔除了可归因于风险敞口增长的趋势,并可用于检测其他潜在趋势

2 https://www.carbonbrief.org/mapped-how-climate-change-affects-extreme-weather-around-the-world

3 https://www.climatecouncil.org.au/uploads/3ca765b1c65cb52aa74eec2ce3161618.pdf

4 https://www.nature.com/articles/nclimate3327

5 https://www.nature.com/articles/nclimate3321

6 Ryan Crompton、Roger Pielke 和 John McAneney。(2011 年)。“Emergence timescales for detection of anthropogenic climate change in US tropical cyclone loss data”。《环境研究快报》(Environmental Research Letters)。6. 014003.10.1088/1748-9326/6/1/014003

7 https://www.unepfi.org/climate-change/tcfd/

Contact

Related content

Secondary perils – Not so secondary

According to Swiss Re Institute’s annual sigma review of natural catastrophes and man-made disasters, more than 60 per cent of the USD 76 billion of insured natural catastrophe losses in 2018 were due to 'secondary peril' events.

sigma also reports that the total insured catastrophe and man-made losses in 2018 were the fourth highest on record at USD 85 billion, supporting the increasing loss trend over the past two decades. Total economic losses were USD 165 billion, once again highlighting the large protection gap that exists.

'Primary perils' are defined as those that have the highest loss potentials, are well-monitored, and usually covered by catastrophe models – here we refer mainly to earthquakes and tropical cyclones. Secondary perils, on the other hand, are those that generate small to mid-sized losses, such as hail, flood, storm or bushfire.

What caused the high representation of secondary perils in 2018?

One of the main reasons was a lower representation of primary perils in 2018. Even without mega-catastrophe events, the total insured losses were still the fourth highest on record, suggesting that we are seeing a rise in secondary perils. sigma states that the growth in secondary peril insured losses is mostly due to concentration of exposure growth in larger cities, in coastal areas, and on floodplains. Put simply, when we put more assets in harm's way, we will see more losses.

Secondary perils are typically weather-related, so we might expect that climate change will have an influence on secondary peril loss outcomes in the future. As our world warms, we will experience increased atmospheric energy, i.e. more storms; a warmer atmosphere, which can absorb more moisture leading to more intense rainfall events; and more heatwaves driving an increase in wildfire/bushfire losses.

Are secondary perils going up Down Under?

Australia is heavily exposed to secondary perils. Analysis of the Insurance Council of Australia's Natural Disaster Event List suggests that 67 per cent of all normalised1 insured losses since 1966/7 have been due to secondary perils. Of the top 20 normalised losses, 14 are from secondary perils.

Reflecting on secondary peril loss activity in Australia over the last several years, one might be tempted to ask whether we are seeing more of these losses in Australia in recent times. For secondary perils (excluding earthquake and cyclone losses), our analysis of the ICA's normalised loss data shows a slight and probably statistically insignificant residual trend in normalised losses over the past 50 years (Figure 1). From this we can infer that the main driver of increased losses over time in Australia is growth in underlying exposures, which aligns with our sigma research on global losses.

Graph source: ICA Dataglobe

What about climate change?

Although there's no convincing underlying trend in the normalised loss data, other research tells us that climate change is already having an impact on losses.

In recent years, a number of attribution studies have been published, which seek to determine if our changing climate has had any influence on studied events. Carbon Brief analysed the results of more than 230 peer-reviewed scientific global attribution studies, with mounting evidence that human activity is raising the risk of some types of extreme weather, especially those linked to heat. Sixty-eight per cent of all extreme weather events studied to date were made more likely or more severe by human-caused climate change. Heatwaves account for 43 per cent of these events, droughts make up 17 per cent and heavy rainfall or floods account for 16 per cent2.

Closer to home, the Climate Council3 states that most of the attribution studies in Australia have so far been focussed on heat-related events, i.e. heatwaves; record hot months, seasons and years; and surface ocean heat events, which led to extensive bleaching of the Great Barrier Reef in recent years. A few attribution studies have, however, explored the link between extreme rainfall and climate change. For example, the warming trend in sea surface temperatures (SSTs) to the north of Australia may have contributed, by up to 20 per cent, to the magnitude of the heavy rainfall of 2010-11 in eastern Australia.

The Climate Council report also suggests that we may expect to see other climate impacts in the future in the following areas:

  • Heavy rainfall: Extreme rainfall events are projected to increase in intensity.
  • Hail and thunderstorms: Analysis of conditions conducive to severe thunderstorms in Australia indicates significant increases in potential severe thunderstorm days by the end of the century – 14 per cent for Brisbane, 22 per cent for Melbourne, and 30 per cent for Sydney.
  • Extra-tropical cyclones: Projections for east coast lows suggest a reduction by up to 30 per cent towards the end of the century, which is a continuation of the observed trend. However, there is some indication that the intensity of the most severe east coast lows could increase.

Other studies have suggested a potential increase in both the mean hail size and frequency of larger hail events over North America4. 5A similar shift in Australia would only increase the loss potential from this hazard, which is already responsible for a significant proportion of the normalised historical loss record.

And in New Zealand?

While earthquake and other geological perils will remain the dominant force, we can also expect to see more extreme weather events under a changing climate. More transitioning cyclones from the tropics, such as Gita and Fehi, and an increase in torrential rainfall due to the formation of 'atmospheric rivers', such as following Cyclone Debbie, are examples. Recent wildfires in the Nelson area may be an early local indicator of increasing wildfire exposure –sigma also highlights yet another record wildfire year for California.

What are we to do in the face of climate risk?

The challenge for insurers and reinsurers is in understanding when, and by how much, climate change will impact their businesses. Due to the inherent noise in the loss data, it will undoubtedly take quite some time for a statistically relevant climate change loss signal to emerge in the loss record6. However, we don't have the luxury of waiting 100 years to acknowledge, with hindsight, that climate change has made its mark on insured losses. Nor can we simply ignore the problem – it won't go away.

We are now seeing encouraging movement in terms of quantifying and reporting financial impacts from climate change. Despite some limitations around estimating the impact of climate change on certain secondary perils, such as hail, the United Nations Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosure (TCFD) initiative7 could provide a framework for insurers and reinsurers to estimate many other climate risks (cyclone, flood) in their insured portfolios, and price for them.

TCFD may also offer governmental authorities a framework to understand where they can expect the biggest impacts from climate change, enabling appropriate approaches (such as good planning and mitigation) to manage the impacts of climate risk and keep catastrophe risk transfer affordable and sustainable into the future.

1 ICA’s normalised loss data removes trends attributable to exposure growth and can be used to detect other underlying trends.

2 https://www.carbonbrief.org/mapped-how-climate-change-affects-extreme-weather-around-the-world

3 https://www.climatecouncil.org.au/uploads/3ca765b1c65cb52aa74eec2ce3161618.pdf

4 https://www.nature.com/articles/nclimate3327

5 https://www.nature.com/articles/nclimate3321

6 Crompton, Ryan & Pielke, Roger & McAneney, John. (2011). Emergence timescales for detection of anthropogenic climate change in US tropical cyclone loss data. Environmental Research Letters. 6. 014003. 10.1088/1748-9326/6/1/014003.

Contact