建设“恢复力”:中国应对气候风险的韧性日益增强

2008 年 5 月 12 日,一场里氏震级高达 8.0 级的大地震重创了人口稠密的四川省汶川县,造成近 7 万人死亡,逾 37 万人受伤,数百万人无家可归。据估计,这场地震造成的损失高达 8451 亿元人民币,其中只有一小部分有保险公司承保。这是四川地区 30 多年来遭遇的最强地震,这一毁灭性事件在全世界引起了巨大反响,时至今日,它依然是我们沉痛的经验教训,让我们认识到加强对灾难事件抵御能力的必要性。

中国是受自然灾害影响最大的国家之一,由于其幅员辽阔、地理环境和气候十分复杂,民众面临的风险也越来越大。在各种自然灾害之中,无论是在人员伤亡还是财产损失方面,地震的破坏性可能都是最大的。根据中国地震台网中心的数据,中国曾发生过 1774 次 5.0 级及以上的地震,即平均每年要发生 37 次类似强度的地震1。在瑞再研究院 sigma 刊物的记录中,2008 年汶川地震所造成的经济损失是中国历史上第二高的,仅次于 1976 年的唐山大地震。

据估计,在中国,自然灾害的影响波及六分之一人口,每年导致数千人死亡,并给中国及其人民造成重大的经济影响2。虽然由政府主导的工作覆盖面非常广,但它们也给地方政府带来了沉重的财政负担。以 2008 年汶川地震为例,这次地震给四川各县市的财政收入造成了不同程度的影响,其中部分县市的财政支出较 2007 年增长了近 10 倍。

社会大众已经认可保险在推动中国的灾后重建以及增强其灾难抵御能力方面发挥着重要作用。2018 年 12 月,在汶川地震十年后,四川省阿坝藏族羌族自治州人民政府与中航安盟财产保险有限公司签署了具有里程碑意义的协议,这份协议旨在加强距 2008 年汶川地震震中映秀镇仅 70 公里的四川茂县的灾难抵御能力。该合作项目是中国首个县级巨灾保险项目,为茂县和青藏高原提供了针对地震、突发性滑坡、泥石流和公共安全事故的保险。此外,由于采用了指数保险的形式,一旦发生灾害损失并满足预先约定的条件,赔付便可触发,第一时间为恢复、救助和重建工作提供帮助。

极端天气只增不减 保障仍有巨大缺口

除地质灾害外,中国也极易受到极端天气事件的影响,比如日益频繁的洪水、台风和干旱,这些极端天气事件对国家的社会经济发展产生了巨大的影响。2017 年,暴雨导致长江泛滥,波及 11 个省份,40 万户家庭受到影响。据估计,此次事件造成的经济损失达 60 亿美元,为当年亚洲地区之最。32018 年 9 月,台风“山竹”席卷菲律宾、中国香港和中国澳门,尔后奔袭深圳和广东其他地区。245 万人被疏散,广东省省会广州的各大企业被迫停工,造成的损失总计达 20 亿美元,而上一次全市停工发生在 1978 年4

全球气候正在变暖,世界气象组织的《2018年全球气候状况声明》显示,2018 年是有记录以来气温第四高的一年。气候变暖不仅导致地表更加干燥,增加山火和干旱的风险,而且还不断使降水模式发生改变,从而导致热带气旋更加频繁和强烈。频繁发生的极端天气事件对人口增长和城市化的影响,可能会导致巨大的破坏和损失。

在中国这样一个快速城市化的经济体中(中国在 2018 年的城市化率已达到 58.52%5),城市人口密度的不断增加和资产的积累都意味着自然灾害造成的破坏和损失将继续增加。据户籍登记数据显示,在过去 40 年中,中国城市的数量增加了两倍多,达到 661 个,其中 16 个城市的居民人数超过 500 万6。因而,热带风暴击中大城市(比如中国沿海大城市)的可能性大大地增加了。 

缓减城市气候风险 保险行业大有可为

瑞再研究院最近的一份 sigma 报告显示,自然灾害造成的经济损失总额达 1550 亿美元,而保险仅覆盖了其中约 760 亿美元。在亚洲,由自然灾害和人为灾难造成的经济损失达 550 亿美元,其中只有 2000 万美元的损失有投保。

而与此同时,市场中却有足够的风险吸收能力。截至 2018 年底,全球非寿险再保险/保险市场承保和转移风险的能力超过 2 万亿美元。在 2017 年和 2018 年两年中,由自然灾害事件造成的全部经济损失中,只有 2190 亿美元的损失有投保。换言之,保险行业有充足的资本来应对这些损失,但发达市场和新兴市场仍面临着保险不足的挑战。

对保险行业来说,现有的保障缺口是一个机遇,保险行业可以利用这一机遇实现增长,并帮助更多的人更好地准备以应对灾难事件可能造成的财务困难。举例来说,由极端天气触发的指数保险可在灾难事件后,帮助启动恢复工作。在台风“山竹”登陆广东后不久,当地保监局便宣布广东省巨灾指数保险被触发,提供的赔付被用来支援广东省灾后的救灾恢复工作。 

提高韧性的落脚点在于保护民生

sigma 分析还显示,全球超过 60% 的理赔被用于帮助人们应对由次生灾害带来的影响,如暴雨、山体滑坡和风暴潮引发的洪水。极端天气事件不仅给城市带来人身损害和经济损失,而且还会严重危害农村地区,威胁当地人的生计。中国是世界上最大的粮食生产国,农业人口超过 3 亿人7

2016 年,中国东部和东北部出现严重干旱,波及黑龙江省、内蒙古自治区和吉林市 19 个城市中的 102 个县,近 1000 万人受灾。1500 万英亩农田受到影响,造成的直接经济损失达 33 亿美元。这期间,农作物保险理赔增长 1 倍,而受影响县的理赔则增长 3 到 5 倍。同年,安徽省的夏季洪灾给 11 个城市的 73 个县造成不同程度的损失。据该省民政厅统计,1000 多万人受到此次洪灾影响,270 万英亩农作物遭到破坏,造成的直接经济损失达 80 亿美元。

面对愈加频繁的天气事件,风险日益增加,我们需要应对大量的风险,不只在粮食生产和全球供应链方面如此,在保护农业人口方面也是一样。各省政府正越来越多地利用保险工具,来为保险救济计划提供经费或促进恢复和重建工作。2016 年,中国首个农业指数保险项目在黑龙江省落地,旨在保护农民抵御因洪水、暴雨、干旱和低温造成的收入损失。该计划覆盖了黑龙江地区的 28 个贫困县,帮助农业地区减轻自然灾害事件对其生计的影响,并为加快灾后恢复提供资金。2019 年,一项农业巨灾保险指数项目启动,覆盖了陕西省商洛市的七个国家级深度贫困县区。该项目进一步降低了贫困地区因灾致贫的风险并且为陕西地区逐步建立多层次的农业巨灾保障奠定了深厚的基础。 这些努力都是农业保险市场发展的重大突破,它们通过运用在农业大数据和科技方面的投资,最终使农民收入和粮食安全更加稳定。

中国在恢复力建设方面做出的努力突显了保险对于加强财务准备的重要性,以增强人们面对自然灾害时的抵御能力。通过合理规划,采取多方面的措施缓解自然灾害所造成的影响和损失,其中保险对于有效的灾难风险管理至关重要,对于受灾社区迅速恢复重建也有莫大的裨益。有效的保险措施可以帮助减轻气候变化给民众和经济所带来的影响,同时缩小保障缺口。

Contact

Related content

Enabling recovery: China's growing resilience to climate risks

On 12 May 2008, a magnitude 8.0 earthquake struck Wenchuan in China's populous Sichuan Province, claiming close to 70,000 lives, injuring over 370,000 and leaving millions of people homeless. Total damage was estimated to amount to RMB 845.1 billion with only a small portion covered by insurance. The earthquake was the worst to strike the Sichuan area in over 30 years and the devastating incident garnered worldwide reaction and till this day, continues to provide valuable lessons learned on the need for resilience against catastrophic events.

China is one of the most exposed countries to natural catastrophes – its vast territory, complex geographical environment and climate can mean growing risks for its people. Of the different natural perils, earthquakes can be the most destructive, both in terms of loss of life and property damage. According to data from the China Earthquake Network Centre, there have been 1774 earthquakes of magnitude 5.0 and above in China, on average 37 such magnitude events each year1. In terms of economic damage, the 2008 earthquake in Wenchuan was the second highest ever in China on Swiss Re Institute's sigma records, after the 1976 Tangshan Earthquake.

Natural disasters are estimated to affect one in six people in China leading to thousands of deaths each year and significant economic implications for both the country and its people2. While government-led efforts are comprehensive, these levy strong financial burden on the local government. In the case of the 2008 Wenchuan Earthquake, the event affected the financial revenues of Sichuan counties and cities to varying degrees, with some county financial expenditures increasing by nearly 10 times in comparison with 2007.

It is no surprise that insurance is recognized to have an important role in facilitating recovery and enhancing resilience in China's disaster relief machinery. In December 2018, ten years after the earthquake occurred, the People's Government of Aba Tibetan, Qiang Autonomous Prefecture of Sichuan Province, and Groupama AVIC signed a landmark agreement to strengthen resilience in China's Mao County, located just 70 kilometers away from Yingxiu, the epicenter of the 2008 Wenchuan Earthquake. The partnership provides China's first county-level natural catastrophe programme that insures Mao County and the Tibet Plateau, against earthquakes, landslides, heavy rainfall and public safety accidents. The parametric cover also means that payouts satisfying pre-agreed conditions can be triggered in the event of a disaster, which can help in rehabilitation, relief and reconstruction efforts.

Extreme weather on the Rise

Besides geological disasters, China is also highly exposed to extreme weather events such as floods, typhoons and droughts are happening more frequently, resulting in huge impact on the country's social economic development. In 2017, heavy rains caused the Yangtze River to flood, impacting 11 provinces and displacing 400,000 homes. Economic losses from that single event were estimated to be USD 6 billion, the largest in the year in Asia. 3In September 2018, after leaving a devastating trail in the Philippines, Hong Kong and Macau, Typhoon Mangkhut headed towards Shenzhen and Guangdong. 2.45 million were evacuated, businesses in the capital city Guangzhou were shut down for the first time since 1978 and caused total damages amounting to USD 2 billion4

The world is getting warmer and according to the World Meterological Organisation, 2018 is the fourth warmest year on record. Besides resulting in drier surface conditions increasing the risk of wildfire outbreaks and drought, the warmer climate is changing precipitation patterns that contribute to more frequent and intense tropical cyclones. The impact of frequent extreme weather events on population growth and urbanization can lead to huge resulting damage and losses.

In a rapidly urbanizing economy like China, which was urbanizing at a rate of 58.52%5 in 2018, the rising population density in cities and accumulation of assets can mean damage and losses in the event of natural catastrophes will continue to grow. The number of Chinese cities has more than tripled to 661 over the last 40 years, with 16 cities home to more than 5 million residents according to household registration data6. As a result, the likelihood of a tropical storm striking a large urban area, such as China's coastline, has increased manifold. 

Mitigating Climate Risks in cities

Swiss Re Institute's recent sigma report reveals that total economic losses from natural catastrophes was USD 155 billion, of which insurance covered only about USD 76 billion. In Asia, economic losses from natural catastrophes and man-made disasters amounted to USD 55 billion, of which less than half – only USD 20 million in losses – were insured.

At the same time, there is more risk-absorbing capacity available in the market. By the end of 2018, total capacity in the global non-life re/insurance market was more than USD 2 trillion. For 2017 and 2018 together, only USD 219 billion of the total economic loss from natural disaster events was insured. In other words, the industry is well capitalized to deal with these losses, but underinsurance remains a challenge across advanced and emerging markets.

The existing protection gap is an opportunity for the insurance industry to both grow and to help more of the population be better prepared to manage the financial hardship that disaster events can inflict. For example, parametric covers pegged to extreme weather triggers, can provide a first step in recovery efforts in the aftermath of a catastrophe event. Soon after Typhoon Mangkhut landed in Guangdong, the local insurance regulator announced that the province's parametric catastrophe index facility was triggered, which provided payouts to support recovery efforts from the resulting floods in the province. 

Protecting people's livelihoods

The sigma analysis also showed that more than 60% of the claims globally were utilized to help populations manage the secondary impact such as torrential rains, landslides and storm surge-induced flooding arising from extreme weather. Physical damage and economic losses in cities aside, extreme weather events also lead to devastating impact on the rural community that threaten their livelihoods. China is the world's largest food producing country with more than 300 million farmers7.

In 2016, severe drought in the eastern and northeastern China affected nearly 10 million people in 102 counties across 19 cities in Heilongjiang province, Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region and Jilin city. 15 million acres of agriculture land were affected, resulting in USD 3.3 billion direct economic losses. Claims in crop insurance grew by 100% while claims from affected counties grew by 3 to 5 times. In the same year, the summer floods in Anhui province brought varying degrees of losses to 73 counties across 11 cities. According to statistics from the province's Ministry of Civil Affairs, more than 10 million people were affected, 2.7 million acres of crops were damaged, resulting in USD 8 billion of direct economic losses.

In the face of mounting risks from more frequent weather events, there is much at stake, not only in terms of food production and global supply chains, but also when it comes to protecting the farming population. Provincial governments are increasingly using insurance instruments to finance insurance relief programmes or facilitate recovery and rebuilding efforts. In 2016, China's first anti-poverty parametric insurance programme was adopted in Heilongjiang province, providing protection to farmers against the loss of income from floods, excessive rain, droughts and low temperatures. Covering 28 rural counties in Heilongjiang, the scheme helps the farming community mitigate impact of natural catastrophe events on their livelihoods and provides funds for a quicker recovery. In 2019, an agriculture natural catastrophe parametric programme was launched to cover seven counties in Shangluo, where deep poverty was a major issue. The programme mitgates the risk of further financial instability due to natural catastrophes, providing critical foundations for strengthening Shanxi's resilience towards agriculture catastrophe events. These are significant developments in the development of agricultural insurance market, which contributes to greater stability for farmers’ earnings and food security through stimulating investment in agriculture and technology.

China's resilience building efforts highlight the significance Insurance have in fostering financial preparedness to strengthen people's resilience to natural catastrophes. There are ways to alleviate both the impacts and costs of natural catastrophes by planning, where insurance plays a critical role in effective disaster risk management helping communities get back on their feet faster. Having the right insurance measures can help mitigate the impact climate change levies on its people and economy and close the protection gap.

Contact

Related content