日本的颱風風險警鐘響起

氣候事件在全球自然災害損失中仍然佔據主要比重。在亞洲,日本尤其是災難頻發,其中包括於 2018 年所遭受的一連串颱風襲擊。燕子颱風於 2018 年 9 月襲擊大阪地區,是日本自密瑞兒颱風 (1991) 以來造成損失最為嚴重的颱風,承保損失估計約為 120 億美元。該總額是災難模型最初估計「60 億美元」的兩倍。此外,巴比侖颱風 (2018) 在日本西部所引起的洪水,再次提醒我們洪水風險在日本可能造成的嚴重損失, 如同歷史上經歷過的凱瑟琳颱風 (1947) 與艾達颱風 (1958)。今年的哈吉貝颱風 (2019) 和法西颱風 (2019) 所帶來的影響仍在評估中,儘管人們已經採取了結構性的減災措施,但仍毫無疑問地彰顯出都市面對颱風與洪水風險時的脆弱。

燕子颱風是一記警鐘,提醒業界應重新審視日本此類高風險災害的核保充分性。這提醒我們做為一個產業,必須持續監控各種可能對重大事件損失造成影響的自然與社會經濟因素,這些因素可能沒有在目前的災難建模技術中得到充分的考慮。

燕子颱風等重大氣候事件讓業界措手不及

風災所導致的損失情況在 2018 年令整個業界措手不及,但這並非前所未見。由於針對重大氣候事件的看法過於樂觀,此現象已反覆出現於全球各地。災難風險模型無法妥善掌握主要危險事故的次生影響、都市化過程中的土地利用變化、氣候變遷、需求激增、社會通貨膨脹等狀況。  例如,紐奧良在卡崔娜颶風 (2005) 期間的堤防倒塌,導致洪水氾濫了該市超過 80% 的範圍。較近期的艾瑪颶風 (2017) 則是因利益分配 (AOB) 訴訟造成的大量損失等因素而震撼了業界。雖然每次的震撼不盡相同,但結果都一樣:嚴重低估重大事件造成的損失。     

以燕子颱風來說,有多種潛在因素導致最初的損失估計過低。圖 1 根據可用的資料與關聯資訊為潛在損失的因素做出了假設。

圖 1:燕子颱風最初損失估計過低的可能損失因素

其中一個可能的因素,是在該事故剛結束且不確定性尚高之時所估計出的低風速。京都大學最近的一項模擬測試中顯示,大阪市的城市景觀中有多座高層建築,這促使該市內的風渦累積。不過,此類颱風與都會中心高層建築相互作用的現象並非前所未見;艾克颱風 (2008) 便曾在休士頓呈現過類似現象,而且此現象肯定會再次發生。但無論如何,光是風速的增加並不能完整解釋模型損失與實際損失之間的差距。

另外,燕子颱風發生時,日本尚未從先前災難恢復。6 月大阪發生了芮氏規模 6.1 地震,而接著 7 月初又有暴雨肆虐日本西部。這些事件造成資源上的壓力,並且影響了理賠的方式。此外,大阪地區數十年來未曾經歷過高風速的影響。建築施工的方式以及客戶對保險的態度等面向可能已發生改變。儘管這些因素難以量化,但於承保時忽略這些因素是不明智的。

似曾相識:歷史上反覆出現的事件

有鑑於如燕子、法西、哈吉貝及巴比侖颱風等發生重大損失的氣候事件,氣候變遷很容易被指認為驅動風險的因素。然而,深入探究日本的颱風歷史就會發現事實並非如此。諷刺的是,燕子颱風並非屬於預期之外的事件。過去一個世紀以來,日本至少已經歷過四起規模類似的事件 (室戶 1934、薇拉 1959、南施 1961、燕子 2018)。事實上,室戶、南施,以及燕子颱風襲擊大阪地區時的行經路徑也非常相似。

圖 2 顯示了過去一個世紀里主要事件的模型損失估算。我們在可能的範圍內使用趨勢原始承保損失資料 (1991 年及以後),而針對較早期的事件,我們將自然危害的特徵與現今事故比對,並透過我們的風險評估模型重新塑模。若假設觀察期為 85 或 100 年,其中至少已有 4 起超過 1 兆日圓等級的事件,使之成為 1:20 或 1:25 年的觀察。

圖 2:過去 85 至 100 年的日本颱風損失經驗

來源。瑞士再保險估計,市場評估,已報告的 GIAJ 損失。瑞士再保險的估計是根據使用客戶資料估算的市場曝險,不包括互助和汽車業務 (例如 Zenk)
燕子的損失是根據目前市場評估所得,尚未完全確定。
室戶颱風的損失假設與颱風南施 (被稱為第二室戶) 相同,但不確定性較高。
 

市場中的颱風風險觀點與損失經驗之間存有很大差距

圖 3 針對保險市場在損失方面,顯示了三種類型的日本颱風風險分析比較。首先,它顯示了一個僅基於供應商模型、用於對市場中的日本 颱風 風險進行定價的指示性風險觀點 (下方的陰影曲線範圍)。其次,它顯示了供應商模型根據匯總市場損失投資組合得出的結果,該投資組合亦由供應商提供 (上方的陰影曲線範圍)。

第三,它顯示了圖 2 的結果,亦即一項回顧了日本過去 85-100 年間颱風歷史的經驗分析,聚焦於三種市場損失等級,以及在該期間觀察到的超出量。雖然此分析技術包含了過去事件及其絕對損失等級的一些不確定性,不過根據經驗得出的 5000 億日圓、7500 億日元和 1 兆日圓超出頻率等級可說是清晰可見。

儘管市場認為這種大規模事件每 50 年或更長時間才發生 1 次,但歷史資料顯示這週期其實短得多,只有 25 至 30 年左右。  將各種損失等級中的損失經驗與用於市場中交易風險的風險觀點 (下方的陰影曲線範圍) 進行比較後,此圖顯示用於對日本颱風風險進行定價的模型中, 風險觀點和損失經驗之間存在著實質的差距。   

此圖只是個簡單的比較,其結論可能更複雜。根據供應商模型有限的可用資訊,比起用於定價日本風險的風險觀點 (1 兆日圓的損失等級落在 45 年以上),供應商模型由上而下的風險觀點似乎與歷史損失經驗更為吻合。因此,僅從供應商模型來看,由上而下的供應商模型風險觀點與用於再保險市場中的風險觀點之間,存在有較大的脫節。  

圖 3:損失經驗與基於供應商模型的指示性風險觀點

此差距可能由多種原因所造成,包括不同的曝險資料假設、模型選項及其他要素。模型通常是依據市場曝險和損失基準來進行校準。舉例來說,如果使用相對於分保人資料的較高市場風險重置價值來進行由上而下的模型校準,便可能導致模型為符合相同損失基準而低估脆弱性。當套用至分保人的投資組合時,這將造成較低的損失。調和這些差異非常重要,這樣才能確保模型能有效使用。同時,歷史損失經驗相對而言也適用於任何廣泛分布於日本各地的投資組合。它可以作為模型效能及風險管理的重要現實參考比對。舉例來說,燕子颱風的 80% 承保損失,亦即 1 兆日圓的市場損失等級,在過去的 85 至 100 年中至少發生了 4 次,代表每隔 20 到 25 年就可能重複一次。

適當的風險觀點是承保高復原力社會的關鍵推動力

世界上三分之一的自然災害發生在亞洲,而這些災害都能對社會造成重大衝擊。亞洲的巨大災害保障缺口為我們提供重大的機遇。若要可持續性地承保災害業務,就需要擁有堪用的風險觀點,而這些觀點必須將長期的歷史經驗以及不斷演進的自然和社會經濟趨勢納入考量。更重要的是,做為一個產業,這是一記當頭棒喝,提醒我們要重新審視我們的承保假設,並開發更強大的建模工具,這樣才能以適當的價格提供正確的保障,以確保我們的社會具備持續性的復原力。日本颱風活動的長期趨勢尚未有定論,不過最近幾年的颱風活動顯示我們可能正處於與類似 1960 年代和 1980 年代的高度活動期。日本的颱風與洪水歷史,為一百多年來的颱風風險提供了強而有力的量化基礎。2018/19 的颱風風險等級並非意料之外,它顯示的是自過去以來持續活躍的現象之延續,而在進行適切且可持續的風險評估時,必須將這個現象作為評估的基礎。

Tags

typhoon urbanresilience

Authors

Related teasers

A wake-up call on typhoon risks in Japan

Weather related events continue to dominate natural catastrophe losses globally. In Asia, Japan was particularly hit with multiple catastrophes including a series of typhoons in 2018. Typhoon Jebi, which hit the Osaka region in September 2018, was Japan's costliest typhoon since Typhoon Mireille (1991), with insured losses estimated at about USD 12bn. That's more than double of the USD 6bn that catastrophe models have initially estimated. Also, flooding from Typhoon Prapiroon (2018) in western Japan was a reminder of the potential severity of flood risk in Japan as experienced in history with Typhoon Kathleen (1947) and Typhoon Ida (1958). This year, Typhoons Hagibis (2019) and Faxai (2019), whose impact is currently being assessed, further underscore the high vulnerability of urban regions to both typhoon wind and flood risks despite structural mitigations.

Jebi was a wake-up call for the industry to review the adequacy of underwriting for this peak peril in Japan. It is a reminder that as an industry, we need to constantly monitor the various physical and socio-economic factors that can influence losses for large events, which may not be well-addressed by current cat modelling technology.

Large events such as Typhoon Jebi continue to surprise the industry

The storm's adverse loss developments surprised the industry in 2018, but it is not alone. This phenomenon has been repeatedly observed globally resulting in optimistic bias for large events. Secondary effects of primary perils, changes in land use with urbanization, climate change, demand surge, social inflation are not well captured in catastrophe models.  For example, failure of the levees in New Orleans during Hurricane Katrina (2005) resulted in flooding of over 80% of the city. More recently Hurricane Irma (2017) surprised the industry with a large loss creep due to assignment of benefits (AOB) lawsuits, amongst other factors. While the surprises come in different flavours each time, the outcome is the same – a heavy underestimation of losses for large events.     

In the case of Typhoon Jebi, a mix of factors potentially led to the initial loss underestimation. Figure 1 hypothesize the breakdown of potential loss drivers based on available data and anecdotal information.

Figure 1: Likely loss drivers for Typhoon Jebi's initial loss underestimation

One possible factor was the low wind speeds estimated just after the event when the uncertainty was high. A recent Kyoto University simulation showed that Osaka city's urban landscape with multiple tall buildings contributed to the build-up of eddies of wind within the city. This is, however, not a new phenomenon when typhoons interact with tall buildings in an urban centre – Hurricane Ike (2008) in Houston showed a similar experience, and it will happen again. Nevertheless, increased wind speeds alone could not explain the complete gap between modelled and actual losses.

Typhoon Jebi also took place at a time when Japan had yet to recover from the impact of earlier catastrophes. A magnitude-6.1earthquake hit Osaka in June and in early July, torrential rains ravaged western Japan. These events resulted in stress on resources and impacted claims settlement practices. In addition, Osaka region had not experienced high wind speeds for many decades. Changes in construction practices and customers' behaviour towards insurance might have taken place. While these factors are hard to quantify, it would be imprudent to ignore these factors in underwriting.

Déjà vu – A recurring occurrence in history

With large-loss weather events like Jebi, Faxai, Hagabis, and Prapiroon, it is tempting to point to climate change as a driving risk factor. However, a look into Japan's typhoon history tells a rather different story. The irony is that Typhoon Jebi is not an unexpected event. Over the last century, there have been at least four events of similar scale in Japan (Muroto 1934, Vera 1959, Nancy 1961, Jebi 2018). In fact, Typhoon Muroto, Nancy, and Jebi took very similar tracks impacting the Osaka region.

Figure 2 shows the modelled loss estimates for the major events in the past century. Where available, trended original insured loss data (1991 and later) were used, and for earlier events, physical hazard characteristics have been matched to events of today, and remodelled in our risk assessment model. Assuming an 85 or 100-year observation window, at least 4 events have exceeded the JPY 1000bn level – making this a 1:20 or 1:25 years observation.

Figure 2: Japan typhoon loss experience over the last 85 to 100 years

Source. Swiss Re estimates, market estimates, reported GIAJ losses. Swiss Re estimates are based on market exposure estimated using clients data and does not include mutual and motor business (e.g., Zenk)
Jebi losses are based on current market estimates and yet to be fully settled.
Muroto losses are assumed to be same as Typhoon Nancy (known as 2nd Muroto) but with higher uncertainty. 

Large gap between typhoon risk view in market and loss experience

Figure 3 displays the comparison of three types of Japan typhoon risk analysis in terms insured market loss. First, it shows an indicative risk view that is used to price Japan TC risk in the market, based on  vendor models only (lower shaded curve range). Second, it displays vendor model derived results based on aggregated market loss portfolios – as provided by vendors (upper shaded curve range).

Third, it shows the results of Figure 2, i.e. an experience analysis reviewing the past 85-100 years of typhoon history in Japan, focusing on three market loss levels and the observed exceedance over that period. While the analysis technique contains some uncertainties of past events and their absolute loss levels, the exceedance frequencies at JPY 500bn, JPY 750bn and JPY 1000bn levels derived from experience are reasonably well-defined.

Despite market perceptions that such large-scale events are a 1-in-50 year occurrence or longer, historical data shows a much shorter 25 to 30-year period.  Comparing the loss experience at various loss levels with the risk view (lower shaded curve range) used in trading risk in the market, the figure shows a material gap between model risk views used in pricing Japan typhoon risk and loss experience.   

The figure is a simplistic comparison and the conclusion may be more complex. Based on limited available information about vendor models, it appears that top-down risk views of vendor models are in better alignment with the historical loss experience than risk view used in pricing Japan risk, where a JPY 1000bn loss level sits at 45+ years. Consequently, there is a larger disconnect between the top-down view of vendor models and risk view  as used in the in the reinsurance market, based on vendor models only.  

Figure 3: Loss experience versus indicative market risk views based on vendor models

The gap can be attributed to multiple reasons including different exposure data assumptions, model options, among others. Models are generally calibrated based on a view of market exposure and loss benchmarks. As an example, if high replacement values in market exposure relative to cedant's data are used for a top-down model calibration, it can lead to an underestimation of vulnerability in the model so as to match same-loss benchmarks. When applied to cedant's portfolio, this will result in lower losses. It is critical to reconcile these differences to ensure effective use of models. At the same time, the historical loss experience, in relative terms, also holds for any widely distributed portfolio across Japan. It provides an essential reality check of model performance and risk management. For example, an insured loss level of about 80% of Jebi, which is equivalent to a JPY 1000 bn market loss level, has occurred at least 4 times in the past 85 to100 years, indicating a 20 to 25-year return period.

An adequate risk view is a key enabler for insuring resilient societies

One in three natural disasters in the world takes place in Asia, and they can literally bring societies to their knees. Asia, a region with large catastrophe protection gap, provides us an important opportunity. Underwriting catastrophe business sustainably means having an adequate risk view that accounts for long-term historical experience and on-going physical and socio-economic trends. More importantly, as an industry, this is a wake-up call to review our underwriting assumptions and develop more robust modelling tools, so we can provide the right protection at the right price, to ensure sustained resilience of our societies. While it is difficult to conclude on long-term trends for typhoon activity in Japan, the last few years of typhoon activity indicates that we might be in a high activity phase like 1960's and 1980's periods. Japan's typhoon and flood history provides robust quantitative cornerstones for typhoon risk over a century. 2018/19 typhoon risk level is not a complete surprise, but rather a continuation of an active past which needs to be the basis of a sound and sustainable risk assessment.

Tags

typhoon urbanresilience

Authors