我們的世界觀往往會受到人們的所見所聞、成長教育以及周圍人群的影響。而對於自然災害,人們往往是後知後覺。即使是最具復原力的社會,人們也常深信「大」災害不會發生在自己身上。

但實際上,自然災害對人們的影響遠比我們所認為的要嚴重得多。在亞洲,幾乎每隔兩天,就會有人因為颱風、地震或洪水痛失親人,眼看自己最珍貴的個人財產被沖走或夷為平地,甚至失去生計。

全世界有三分之一的自然災害在亞洲發生,這些災害都能對社會造成重大衝擊,讓貿易停滯,進而對全球經濟帶來深遠的影響。

去年,超強颱風「山竹」席捲菲律賓、中國香港、澳門和廣東地區。在菲律賓登陸時,颱風造成數百人死亡,農作物大面積損毀。隨著越來越多亞洲人變得富裕並移居到海岸地區,自然災害的衝擊也隨之增加。「特大號」的大廈群、更高的人口密度,天然屏障的匱乏,將導致毀滅性的破壞。

亞洲有一大部分坐落於太平洋的「火環」帶上。它是一個板塊移動劇烈的環形地帶,全長超過 40,000 公里,全球 90% 以上的板塊活動都發生於此處。全世界超過 80% 最具毀滅性的大地震在此發生,而史上最大型的火山噴發(除三次以外)全部發生在這裡。

雖然新聞頭條總是報導重大的風災和地震事件,但「次生」災害造成的影響可能更大。而且,這種災害越來越普遍。何謂「次生」災害?它們是「中等」嚴重且經常發生的自然災害,其中包括熱浪、山崩、豪雨或局部淹水。雖然我們仍將其稱為「次生」災害,但其影響卻可能非常嚴重。

這當中有一部份是氣候變化所導致。瑞士再保險研究院表示,越來越頻繁和嚴重的溫暖和乾燥氣候條件導致野火與乾旱事件更常發生。2019 年版的世界經濟論壇年度「全球風險報告」將極端氣候事故和未能有效減緩氣候變遷列為未來十年內最大的威脅。

將極端氣候事故和未能有效減緩氣候變遷列為未來十年內最大的威脅。根據我們的研究顯示,在 2018 年,投保的自然災害損失中有百分之 60以上都是由「次生」災害造成的。

亞洲的處境可謂風雨飄搖。

亞洲的自然災害復原力較為薄弱

簡單來說,這裡的風險敞口更大。在許多地方,我們缺乏處理事故所需的能力或資源。一份瑞士再保險研究院近期報告估計,全球自然災害保險復原力指數在過去數十年間僅有略微改善。在 2018 年全球 2,220 億美元的自然災害保障缺口中,亞洲就佔了 41%。在亞洲的新興地區中,保障缺口幾乎達該地區產險保費的 358%。這意味著,人們缺乏足夠的保險來應對自然災害的影響。當然,這不只是保險涵蓋的問題,我們必須同時努力使社會更具復原力,透過更佳的規劃與建築標準協助將風險降到最低。另外,亦應有健全且規劃妥善的災害復原系統,以降低損失並讓日常生活與商業活動儘快恢復正常。

讓亞洲更加宜居是我們的目標。我們也相信各個國家也希望為各自人民實現此目標。舉例來說,中國今年發表了一份綜合性文件,目的在於保護其農業供應線,並透過糧食安全讓數百萬人脫離貧困的生活處境。我們推出的指數化解決方案正是為了實現這一目標——通過快速計算賠付金額,確保糧食安全以及盡可能減少食物供應線中斷,避免冗長的申請理賠程序,並讓社會迅速恢復重建。

但隨著新興經濟體成長,私人保險的購買常跟不上發展腳步,導致復原力下降。瑞士再保險研究院表示,目前最大的保障缺口為地震 (1,350 億美元),其次為水災 (500 億美元) 和暴風雨災害 (370 億美元)。報告也強調亞洲發達地區是全球唯一在自然災害、死亡和醫療保健此三大核心風險領域中,自然災害的保障缺口占最大宗的地區。事實上,亞洲新興地區的三大風險領域合計保障缺口為該區最大 (4,560 億美元),佔該地區總和近 80%。

如火如荼的城市化進程,不堪匹配的保護力度

在亞洲,每年都有越來越多的人移居城市。城市人口超過鄉村人口只是時間問題。據聯合國估計,到 2026 年,該地區 45 億的人口中,有超過半數將居住在城市中,而亞洲將擁有全球百分之 60 的巨型城市。

中國在 1980 年的城市人口僅有 2 億,而如今,已有超過 8 億中國人以城市為家。在東南亞,沿岸城市是人民遷徙的主要目的地,而這些城市多半位在太平洋的「火環」帶上,使得他們更容易受到自然災害的侵襲。都市規劃不一致、衛生狀況不佳、廢棄物處理不當、人口與建築密度更高,這些都促成了更甚以往的風險。

城市化進程也改變了我們建設的速度。這種做法是否會加大人們面對一些過往風險以及不當行為導致潛在風險的風險敞口?我們在兩個領域——環境污染責任 (EIL) 和潛在質量缺陷 (IDI)方面的解決方案有助於提升我們的復原力,讓我們更能應對多年來一直潛伏未現的風險影響。 

儘管自然災害的發生可能性高,其投保率仍然不足

我們相信,保險市場完全有能力吸納這些風險。所以,我們該做什麼?因為目前來看,我們還未能充分讓人們意識到保險的價值!

我們必須改變人們認為自然災害相當罕見的既定成見。針對極端氣候所引發的更直接和可預想的風險提供靈活保障,能協助客戶瞭解保險的價值。瑞士再保險和中國的中航安盟財產保險公司為中國四川省茂縣提供涵蓋地震、泥石流、 突發性滑坡等地質災害的全面保障方案,在災害發生時,滿足預先約定的條件,政府即可迅速獲得賠付。

其次,參考歷史損失經驗在以往可能已經足夠,但現在這種做法已經不再適用。我們需要開發出更有效的建模工具,以實時而非事後採集的方式去記錄氣候模式和環境變化。這項作業已展開,但需要被更廣泛地採用。

現在,我們可以利用科技來獲得區域化模型,幫助我們準確、實時地評估風險。憑藉衛星影像和最先進的演算法,洪水模型成為一門精準的科學。透過這種方式,我們能夠協助當地保險公司為過去未受保的人們提供洪災保險保障。同樣地,我們也與政府及都市規畫者合作,確保每個人都有足夠的洪災保險,並確保洪災保障方案具有成本效益和可持續性。

最後,再保險/保險業者可以透過投資活動,在提升社會經濟復原力方面發揮關鍵功能。我們願意投資更多長期基礎建設專案。瑞士再保險研究院估計全球再保險/保險資產總額約達 30 萬億美元,因此即使只投資其中一小部分到基礎建設專案,也有助於減少未來自然災害的衝擊。

合作是提高復原力的關鍵

當然,無論我們有多大能力,我們都不能獨力完成這項工作。這些都是全球性的問題,而我們必須攜手合作,共同開發出適用於現實世界的解決方案。  保險公司、其再保險合作夥伴及公共部門之間的合作,可讓世界更具復原力,更適和生活、成長與發展。自然災害對我們目前與未來的生活所造成的影響越來越顯著,但在此同時,這也是一個巨大的機遇,通過合作我們可以推出更加實用可靠的保險模式。 

氣候變遷是一個政府和社會須面對的複雜風險,因為這些威脅的影響可能要數年甚至數十年之後才顯露出來,因而對於相應的大膽、緊急的行動應對往往引發爭議。然而,通過合理的計算,我們可以了解到自然天氣事件的潛在破壞性影響日益凸顯,並據此為加強保險保護提供有力依據。

Tags

typhoon buildingsocietalresilience naturalcatastrophe mitigatingclimaterisk

Author

Related teasers

Our world view is typically shaped by what we see, our upbringing and who we interact with. As far as natural catastrophes go, its usually an afterthought. Even the most resilient of societies usually believe the "big one" will never happen to them.

But the reality is we are more likely to be affected by a natural calamity than we believe. That's because nearly every third day somewhere in Asia, someone will lose a loved one, see their most prized and personal possessions being swept away or reduced to rubble, or will witness their livelihoods disappear from a typhoon, quake or flood.

One in three natural disasters in the world take place in Asia, and they can literally bring societies to their knees and can bring trade to a halt that has a far-reaching effect on global commerce.

Last year, Typhoon Mangkhut cut a path through the Philippines, Hong Kong, Macau and the Chinese province of Guangdong last year. It made landfall in the Philippines as a super-typhoon, caused hundreds of deaths and left the country’s agricultural belt in tatters. As more and more of Asia becomes affluent and moves toward coastal areas, the potential for devastation increases. The "supersize" combo of bigger buildings, more people per square km and little or no natural blockage can be devastating.

A large part of Asia sits on the Pacific "Ring of Fire". It is a large "ring" of active tectonic plates stretching over 40,000 km where over 90% of the world's seismic activities occur. It is responsible for over 80% of the world's most devastating temblors and all but three of the biggest volcanic eruptions.

While the big-ticket storms and quakes keep grabbing the headlines, "secondary" perils can have more of an impact. And it is becoming more commonplace. What are these so-called "secondary" perils? They are natural occurences that are "moderately" severe and occur fairly frequently, and could include heatwaves, landslides, torrential rainfall or localised flooding. While we are still referring to them as "secondary", the impact can be severe.

That's in part as a result of climate change. The increased frequency and severity of warm and dry conditions has led to greater incidence of wildfires and drought, the Swiss Re Institute said. The 2019 edition of the World Economic Forum’s annual ‘Global Risks Report’ lists extreme weather events and failure of climate change mitigation among the coming decade's  biggest threats.

But there are other reasons too. Economic development, urbanisation and a move to coastlines all add to the a more, pardon the pun, perfect storm for "secondary" perils. These expose citizens and property to more frequent extreme weather events. Our research shows secondary perils caused over 60 per cent of all insured natural disaster losses in 2018.

Asia, therefore, is in a shaky spot.

Asia is less resilient to natural catastrophes

Simply put, we're more exposed. And in many places, we lack the capacity or the resources to deal with events that occur. A recent report by the Swiss Re Institute estimates that the global natural catastrophe Insurance Resilience Index has only improved marginally over the past few decades. Asia accounted for 41% of the USD 222 billion global natural catastrophe protection gap in 2018. In emerging Asia, the gap is almost 358% of the region's property premiums. There isn't enough insurance to deal with natural catastrophes that impact us. Of course, its not just about insurance cover, we also need to work on more resilient societies where better planning and building standards help to mitigate risk as much as possible. This is also where strong and planned disaster recovery systems are in place to reduce losses and get lives and businesses back to normal as soon as possible.

Our goal is to make this region a better place for all of us to thrive. And we know nations want the same for their people. For example, China this year unveiled a comprehensive document to protect its agricultural supply lines and lift millions out of poverty through food security. The parametric solutions we have deployed are designed to do precisely that – ensure food security and supply lines face minimal disruption through rapid parametric payouts thus avoiding lengthy claims processes and a delay in societies getting back on their feet again.

But as emerging economies grow, private insurance purchases don't often follow, resulting in a decline in resilience. The largest protection gap today pertains to earthquakes (USD135 billion), followed by floods (USD50 billion) and storms (USD37 billion), SRI says.

The report also highlights that developed Asia is the only region worldwide where the natural catastrophe protection gap is the largest among the three core risk areas examined (natural catastrophes, mortality, and healthcare). In fact, emerging Asia has the largest aggregate protection gap for the three risk areas combined (USD 456 billion), representing almost 80% of the region's total.

Urbanising but under-protected

Every year, more and more people in Asia move to urban areas. It's only a matter of time before more of us in this region start to live in cities than the country. By 2026, over half of the region’s 4.5 billion population will live in cities and Asia will be home to 60 per cent of the world’s megacities, the UN estimates.

Today, over 800 million Chinese call cities home, up from 200 million in 1980. In Southeast Asia urban migration to cities along coastlines – many of which sit on the Pacific "Ring of Fire" – make them more vulnerable. Inconsistent urban planning, poor sanitation, improper waste disposal and a higher concentration of people and buildings present a far greater risk than ever before.

The call of the cities has also changed how fast we build. In doing that, are we leaving ourselves more exposed to what was there before and the potential that something may not have been done right? Two of our solutions – Environmental Impact Liability (EIL) and Inherent Defect Insurance (IDI) – are there to make us more resilient to impact that may have lay dormant all these years. 

Despite their high likelihood, natural catastrophes remain underinsured

What we do know is that there is more than enough capacity in the insurance market to absorb this risk. So, what do we need to do because at the moment we are failing to get the message across and tell them the value of insurance!

We have to go out there and attempt to end the perception that these events are rare. Flexible options that protect against more immediately conceivable risks pegged to extreme weather triggers could help customers realise the value of insurance. Swiss Re and China's Groupama AVIC helped insure China’s Mao County with a parametric solution resulting in payouts upon satisfying pre-agreed conditions, should they be hit by floods, landslides or even heavy rainfall.

Secondly, relying on historical loss experience may have sufficed in the past, but this is no longer the case. We need to develop more effective modelling tools that capture climate patterns and environmental shifts as they occur in real-time rather than in hindsight. This is happening, but it needs to be more widely adopted.

Technology now helps us with regionalised models that help to assess risk precisely and in real time. Now, satellite imagery and cutting-edge algorithms make flood modelling a precise science. With this approach, we're able to help local insurers offer flood insurance protection to people who had never previously been covered. Likewise, we work with governments and city planners to make sure everyone has adequate levels of flood insurance and that flood defences are cost-effective and sustainable.

Finally, re/insurers can play an integral part in increasing socio-economic resilience through their investment activities. We're open to investing more in long-term infrastructure projects. The Swiss Re Institute estimates that global re/insurance assets amount to approximately USD 30 trillion and investing even a small portion of this to infrastructure projects could help stave off the catastrophic effects of future natural disasters.

Collaboration is key to building resilience

Of course, we can't do this alone, no matter how much capacity we have. These are real world problems, and we need to work together to develop real world solutions.  Cooperation between insurers, their reinsurance partners, and the public sector makes the world a more resilient place to live, grow and thrive. There is a real opportunity here to nurture accessible and dependable insurance through cooperation and partnerships, in a time when natural disasters are increasingly impinging upon our present and future. 

Climate change is an inherently complex risk for governments and society to deal with, as the argument for bold, urgent action against this threat often comes up against the fact that its impact may not be felt for years, or even decades. However, the potentially devastating effects of a natural weather event should loom large in rational calculations and present a strong case for greater insurance protection.

Tags

typhoon buildingsocietalresilience naturalcatastrophe mitigatingclimaterisk

Author