Session replay

De-risking global supply chain: Strengthening resilience in a time of disruption

Tab navigation

Overview

The US-China trade war and COVID-19 pandemic are set to trigger major restructuring of global supply chains, including relocation of production to cut concentration risk, shortening of supply chains and/or building of parallel ones. Governments and manufacturers are reassessing future arrangements for production to reduce vulnerabilities. This means that the major driver of supply chain will no longer be cost, but its security and reliability. The influence of governments, infrastructure and technology will therefore be key to de-risking global supply chains.

  • According to our own Swiss Re Institute research, 20% of current production capacity in China will move to other parts of Asia. Are Asian governments prepared to support this shift? What is the anticipated economic impact?
  • Political and pandemic risks are both uninsurable, how, then, can insurers support the public sector in taking on more risks? Can governments work together to anticipate risks and thereby de-risk supply chains?
  • Restructuring supply chain involves major infrastructure movements. What should be taken into consideration? What is the role of insurance?
  • Technology (Robotics, 3D printing, automation, Industry 4.0, blockchain) has enabled massive shifts in production and supply chains. Will it hold the key to de-risking the impact of disruption on economies? 

Agenda

Wednesday 4 Nov 2020

03:00PM – 04:30PM (SGT/HKT)
4.00 pm – 5.30 pm (JST)
12.30 pm – 2.00 pm (IST)
6.00 pm – 7.30 pm (AEST)
8.00 am – 9.30 am (CET)

De-risking global supply chain: Strengthening resilience in a time of disruption

Presentation by Jerome Jean Haegeli, Chief Economist, SRI

Panel discussion:

  • Vincent Eck, Head Public Sector Solutions APAC, Swiss Re
  • David Piesse, CEO, DP88
  • Donald Kanak, Chairman, EU-ASEAN Business Council
  • Shehrina Kamal, Product Director, Risk Monitoring, DHL Resilience 360
  • Karen Koh, Broadcast Journalist & Founder, Intermedia (Moderator)

Enquiries

​TRANSFORMING TOMORROW TOGETHER

JOIN FORCES TODAY FOR A RESILIENT ASIA