Trevor Manuel Chairman Old Mutual Ltd.

Contact options for Trevor Manuel

Trevor Manuel served as a Cabinet Minister from 1994 to 2014 under the first four Presidents of democratic South Africa: Mandela, Mbeki, Motlanthe and Zuma. He was first appointed to Cabinet as Minister of Trade and Industry in May 1994, a portfolio he held for two years. In April 1996, he became Finance Minister, steering the South African economy for 13 years as one of the world’s longest serving finance ministers. During his last term in office, he served as Minister in the Presidency responsible for the National Planning Commission, a position he held from May 2009 to May 2014. During his two decades as a Cabinet Minister he also served as a Member of Parliament, representing the African National Congress in a system of proportional representation.

Trevor Manuel received a number of awards and recognitions, including Africa's Finance Minister of the Year and the Woodrow Wilson Public Service award. He has 8 honorary doctorates from South African tertiary institutions in a range of disciplines such as Commerce, Law, Technology and a Doctor of Laws from MacMaster University, Ontario, Canada. He served as the Chancellor of the Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT) from May 2008 until 2013. He is an Honorary Professor at the Mandela School at UCT (since 2015) where he is a Senior Political Fellow, and a Professor Extraordinaire at the University of Johannesburg (since 2014).

Trevor Manuel is Chairperson of Old Mutual Limited. He is a Senior Advisor to and the Deputy Chairperson of Rothschild South Africa. He also serves as a Trustee on the Allan Gray Orbis Endowment Trust and on the Advisory Board of the Centre for African Cities at UCT.