Solar Impulse 2 resumes its historic flight

Solar Impulse 2, the airplane capable of flying day and night without using a drop of fuel, resumed its round-the-world flight using only solar energy.

Bertrand Piccard took off from Kalaeloa airport, Hawaii at  around 16:15 UTC, (18:15 CET) on April 21st. He touched down on the Moffett Airfield runway 62 hours after takeoff at 6:44AM UTC, 8:44AM CET on April 24th, and 11:44PM PT on April 23rd.

As sole insurer and official partner of Solar Impulse, Swiss Re Corporate Solutions is proud to continue supporting this ground-breaking endeavor that promotes pioneering spirit and the potential of renewable energy and clean technologies. Find out more about why we support Solar Impulse in this short film Flight for the Future: Pioneers in Risk - Journey into the unknown.

In a statement released to the media, both pilots commented on their pioneering journey.

“During my round the world balloon flight in 1999, the seven days I spent over the Pacific were the most nerve-wrecking and thrilling,” said Bertrand Piccard, Initiator and Chairman of Solar Impulse. “With Solar Impulse the flight should last for three days, but this time I am alone in the cockpit, so the intensity is no less important. Every morning you have the suspense of knowing how much energy is left in your batteries. Then, with the sunrise comes the virtuous circle of perpetual flight.”

“Last year we demonstrated that Solar Impulse is capable of flying five days and five nights non-stop: the airplane, the technologies, the human being,” commented André Borschberg, CEO and Pilot of Solar Impulse. “Now what we want to do is continue our flight around the world and demonstrate that these technologies can be used, not only in an airplane, but on the ground.”

During their stay in Hawaii the Solar Impulse team replaced the plane's batteries that were damaged during the record-breaking flight between Japan and Hawaii, which represented the first part of the mission's Pacific crossing.

Other stopovers this year could include Phoenix, locations in the mid-US, New York City, Europe or North Africa. Solar Impulse plans to return to Abu Dhabi and complete the circumnavigation of the world by the end of the summer 2016.

Sign up with Solar Impulse here if you wish to receive regular updates.

Solar Impulse New York events

In June, Solar Impulse landed at John F. Kennedy International Airport, the last stop before its Atlantic Ocean crossing.

Read the whole story

Where are they now? Solar Impulse...

Solar Impulse 2 took off from JFK, New York on June 20th and it will attempt to reach Europe

Read the whole story