保险助力中国推动未来清洁能源、粮食安全和城市恢复力

本文为瑞士再保险亚洲区总裁彭凱彤为世界经济论坛议题栏目撰写的博文

一年前,牛津大学环境变化研究所博士生Xi Hu在世界经济论坛议题栏目发表了一篇博文,指出世界最大的基础设施投资者中国,会因气候变化遭受巨大损失。

我们看到,干旱、洪灾、寒潮和台风等气候相关灾害发生日益频繁。这不仅严重破坏生产力, 还给自然环境和基础设施造成严重影响,威胁数十亿人的生命并加剧贫困。

在《巴黎协定》中承担领导角色

今年1月,习近平主席在达沃斯论坛开幕讲话中明确强调政府遵守《巴黎气候协定》的重要意义。根据“十二五”规划,中国将继续发展二三线城市及绿色高效能源。去年,有7个部委在指导意见中提出保险要为气候相关灾害提供保障,以建立绿色金融体系,支持环境保护和清洁能源。

农村和城镇的恢复力 – 快速保险赔付让农村和城市居民受惠

中国制定了发展城镇化及农业生产基地的战略计划,但其中许多地区位于高风险区域。极端天气灾害可能对依赖农业生产的人群带来严重伤害。而随着中国经济中心不断发展,资产、人员和技术也越来越会集于这些中心,极端天气灾害也会对其造成损害。另外从长远来看,全球供应链和经济发展也可能受损。

通过与中国政府及监管机构卓有成效的密切合作,先进的新保险模式也随之成形。这些模式旨在提高城镇和农村的恢复力,也证明了保险工具的灵活性。在这些解决方案中,台风风速或降雨量等指数可触发保险赔付。这加快了赔付的速度,省去了传统保险所依赖的调查和冗长的定损。

这样,地方政府依靠便于获取的资金,及时帮助公众应对自然灾害的影响,并迅速开展灾后重建。目前,黑龙江省的农村地区和广东省的城镇地区已分别试行此类方案。不像传统保险那样以个人和企业为保障对象,这两项计划的被保险人都是政府。

例如在黑龙江,保险为28个县的农户提供保障,赔偿洪灾、雨量过多、干旱和低温造成的收入损失。在广东,该模式已证明其价值。去年,汕尾在遭受超级台风“海马”袭击后短短数日便获得赔付。

随着气候相关的天气灾害日渐频繁,在中国其他地区如此类保险计划缺位,将给公共预算造成沉重的财政负担。此外,灾后恢复拖延的时间越长,整个地区长期经济前景遭受的不利影响越大。这可能葬送来之不易的发展成果,让缺少保障的人群极易陷入贫困。

推动清洁能源的未来

气候的恢复力不仅包括为天气灾害提供保障和适应手段,还涉及到控制排放。中国已是世界领先的可再生能源发电大国,可再生能源发电量是美国的两倍以上。但是,风能和太阳波动很大;能否吸引投资者参与可再生能源项目,取决于收益流的可预测性。如果没有风、阳光或者水电站遭遇干旱,装机项目便不会产生收益。

在项目的建造和运营过程中,瑞士再保险等公司提供指数触发的保险解决方案,作为对传统险种的补充,提供额外保障。这类项目也类似于黑龙江和广东的解决方案。借助上述新型(再)保险保障,运营商和投资者能够在风能或太阳能波动的情况下获取稳定收入,集中精力发展业务,同时维持更稳定的现金流。特定年份的实际风速或太阳辐射量通过第三方(例如NASA)提供的数据进行计算。这是一个非常透明的机制,同时确保快速赔付。

保险助推清洁能源

随着可再生能源制造业的发展,其技术成本大幅下降。除了创新的促进作用,成本降低的主要原因是市场扩大。2015年,中国成为世界最大的光伏发电国,总装机容量43 GW;中国正成为许多新技术的“试验田”,其中包括可再生能源。

这一发展趋势积极喜人,但中国的产业规模将显著放大系统性风险敞口。这项风险不容忽视,也是项目保险极其重要的考虑因素,因为这需要长期的投入,从项目伊始至全部建造完成。这通常需要四至五年。在某些情况下,可能延续长达20年 – 而且中途无法退出。这就体现了保险的价值所在,它可以减少投资者在价值链各环节的风险,即使在建造或运营过程中发生灾害,也能确保投资者获取稳定的现金流。

显然,中国正采取重要措施改善气候和能源恢复力,同时寻找应对贫困、解决粮食安全的途径。中国正在运用保险进行积极的尝试 – 不仅缩小重大保障缺口,同时担当催化剂,推动清洁能源投资和基础设施抗灾。我们希望更多中国省份及世界各地的其他政府可以注意到上述例子,并考虑如何采用类似方法建设恢复力以更好地实现《巴黎协定》。

2017年6月27日




巨灾保险制度融合社会治理任重而道远

中国经济进入新常态后面临的一个重大挑战是如何从“跑起步后再整理队形”的发展型经济模式转型为“步调一致整队进发”的发达型经济模式。前者是在时间中争取扩大缺乏的经济规模,后者是为已获得的巨大经济规模争取可持续的时间。正所谓“打天下易,坐江山难”。

Read the whole story

再保险:做好巨灾保险的坚实保障

近年来中国的巨灾保险建设工作发展迅速。中国目前的巨灾保险制度建设呈现全国设计与地方试点相结合的局面,渐成全国路线图。在巨灾保障过程中,再保险公司扮演着不可或缺的角色。由于巨灾保险天生具有较大的风险敞口,所以需要通过再保险公司把风险分散到国际市场上。最终,政府、直保公司和再保公司在整个体系中形成紧密结合的协作关系。如何认识和发挥再保险的作用,《金融博览》编辑部就相关问题采访了瑞士再保险中国总裁陈东辉、瑞士再保险公共利益风险业务亚太区负责人Vincent...

Read the whole story

WEF Agenda Blog – China 2017

Insurance – China's path to advancing a clean energy future, food security and city resilience

By Jayne Plunkett, CEO Reinsurance Asia, Swiss Re

Almost exactly a year ago, Xi Hu PhD Student at the Environmental Change Institute, University of Oxford posted an interesting blog on the WEF Agenda channel arguing that the world’s largest infrastructure investor, China, will have a lot to lose when it comes to climate change.

We are seeing an increased occurrence of climate-related disasters such as drought, flood, cold spells and typhoons. Not only does this have grave consequences for productivity, it also creates serious repercussions for natural environment and infrastructure, threatens the lives of billions and aggravates poverty.

Taking leadership on the Paris agreement

President Xi Jinping was vocal about the importance of governments sticking to the Paris Climate Agreement in his opening speech at Davos in January this year. Under the government’s 12th Five-Year Plan, China will continue to develop second- and third-tier cities and green and efficient energy. Last year seven ministries noted the need for insurance to protect against climate related events in their guidelines for establishing a green financial system to support environmental protection and clean energy.

Rural and urban resilience – how speedy insurance payouts benefit farmers and city dwellers

While China has a strategic plan to develop urbanisation and its agriculture base, many of these zones are in high risk areas. Extreme weather events can therefore take a heavy toll on communities that depend on farming to live. They can also hurt China’s booming economic hubs that see a greater concentration of assets, people and technology. Furthermore, global supply chains and economic development could suffer over the longer term.

New pioneering insurance models coming out of a close and fruitful collaboration with Chinese authorities and regulators, aim to increase both urban and rural resilience, and bear testimony to the flexibility of this kind of insurance tool. In these solutions, and index such as cyclone wind speed or rainfall amounts can trigger policy claims. This makes the payout process quicker as it no longer relies on surveys and lengthy damage assessments, as in more traditional insurance schemes.

This allows local governments to count on readily available funds to help their people in the immediate aftermath of a natural catastrophe and start reconstruction soon after the event. Two such schemes have now been piloted in the provinces of rural Heilongjiang and urban Guangdong – where in both cases the governments are insured, rather than as in traditional insurance which covers individuals and enterprises.

In the case of Heilongjiang, the policy covers poor farming families in 28 counties for loss of income caused by flood, excessive rain, drought and low temperature. In Guangdong, the model has already proven its worth, paying out just days after the city of Shanwei was hit by Super-typhoon Haima last year.

With an increase in climate related weather disasters, lack of such insurance schemes in other parts of China will cause a significant financial burden on public budgets. In addition, the longer the recovery process is delayed, the more it can hamper long-term economic prospects for the whole region. This can reverse the hard-won development gains, making the risk of slipping into poverty very high for those who stand without a safety net.

Driving a clean energy future

Climate resilience not only has to do with protection and adaptation against weather events, but also about controlling emissions. China is already the world's leading nation when it comes to electricity production from renewable energy sources, with over twice the generation of the United States. However, wind and the sun are volatile resources, and attracting investors to renewable energy projects will be dependent on the predictability of revenue streams. If the wind does not blow, the sun does not shine or a drought hits a hydro-electric power plant, the installations do not generate any income.

By complementing the traditional insurance covers during construction and operation, companies like Swiss Re offers additional protection with index-triggered insurance solutions, similar to those for Heilongjiang and Guangdong. With these new (re)insurance protections, operators and investors receive steady revenues in case of wind or solar resource volatility and can concentrate on growing their business while maintaining a more stable cash flow. The actual wind speed or solar irradiation amount of a given year is calculated with data from third party providers, like for example NASA. This is a very transparent mechanism, which also ensures prompt indemnity payments.

Insurance as an enabler for clean energy

As its renewable manufacturing has grown, the costs of renewable energy technologies have dropped dramatically. Innovation has helped, but the main driver of reduced costs has been market expansion. In 2015 China became the world's largest producer of photovoltaic power, with 43 GW of total installed capacity, and the country is emerging as a "test field" for many new technologies, including renewable energy.

While this is a very positive development, China's scale will significantly magnify the systematic risk exposure. This cannot be ignored and is a very critical consideration for project insurance because it is a long-term commitment, from the commencement of a project to the completion of all construction activities. This normally take four to five years. In extreme cases, the commitment could take as long as 20 years – and there is no exit door in halfway. Here insurance shows its value because it minimizes the risks for the investors along the value chain, assuring them that cash flows are steady even if disaster strikes during construction or operation.

China is clearly taking some very important steps to improve not just climate and energy resilience, but finding a way to address poverty and food security at the same time. They are using insurance in a very pioneering way – not just to help close important protection gaps - but also to act as a catalyst to advance clean energy investments and disaster resilient infrastructure. We are hoping more provinces in China, and other governments around the world, will watch these examples and consider how similar approaches could become a useful resilience tool in their own striving to meet the Paris agreement.

Published 27 June 2017